School History

Seventh District Elementary School is located in beautiful Parkton, Maryland. We offer full day kindergarten and go through 5th grade.

The history and heritage of Seventh District Elementary make it one of the most unique schools in Baltimore County. In September, 1932, eight small schools, dating back to the 1800s, were consolidated into the original Butler Stone facility that became known as Seventh District Elementary. This facility served the community well until the unfortunate fire on August 30, 1970. Soon after the structure was destroyed, it was decided to reconstruct a new open space school on the same site. Faculty, parents, school board members, and architects worked collaboratively to design a structure that included the two wings that remained after the fire, and the school was reopened in November, 1972. On August 22, 1997, Seventh District Elementary representatives cut the ribbon on a new eight classroom modular addition.

Seventh District Elementary, the northernmost school in Baltimore County, is located in a predominantly rural area. The school district is approximately 80 square miles in size and is sparsely populated in comparison with other county school districts. The community is partially composed of families who have lived in the area for many years as well as new families to the area.